Should your quest for migraine relief be endless?


I've been reading yet another article about recent research into the causes of migraine - it's called Head Agony. You can read it by clicking on the title.
Sadly, it reveals three things about the state of the research:
Picture

1. Past migraine treatments have only been found by accident.

2. We migraineurs have a special kind of brain - one that is always 'on edge', ready to set off an attack when the 'right' combination of circumstances comes along. The precise timing is the next attack is quite unpredictable.


3. The underlying cause of migraine is still unknown, and so a comprehensive cure is far off in the future.

What are the implications for you? Suppose you have tried all the various alternatives recommended by doctors and alternative practitioners, and your migraines are still not down to an acceptable level. I believe you have two choices:
  • Continue to search for a migraine remedy, regardless of how remote a successful outcome to that search might be in the near future, or
  • Focus your efforts on creating your best possible life, while learning to live with your pain.

I chose the second path many years ago. Nothing that has come forward since in the treatment world has materially improved my pain levels. Acceptance of my pain has allowed me to improve my quality of life. 


The Migraine Independence Program can lead you to the same result. Sign up using the form on this page, or register for our next webinar!

12/1/2013 05:46:36 am

Gerry: I just had to comment to gently disagree that if we don't know the originating cause, we can't "treat" the migraines. I absolutely agree that the brain susceptible to migraines is "on the edge" -- and I also describe it that way on my website. At the risk of sounding self-promoting ;-), the brain-training technique I have found useful is called HEG and it directly addresses the "on the edge" problem, helping that "edge" to be more like a sidewalk instead of a balance beam. We might still fall off, but it takes more of a "push". Of course, it still won't do the trick for everyone, and your points about getting on with creating a good life in spite of having pain are still well-made.

Reply
gerry
14/1/2013 12:52:19 am

Thanks for your comment, Karen. There is room for many approaches to managing with your migraines. And I should have been clearer - I don't advocate that my clients abandon their doctors. You never know when a breakthrough might occur; it's just that it's more unlikely for long term sufferers.

Reply
14/1/2013 02:34:25 am

No worries - I don't think you came across as suggesting anyone abandon "treatment". I don't know that I agree about the longer, the worse the prognosis for change EXCEPT that, in my experience, this is exactly where the importance of your focus on getting on with things anyway and staying focused on the positives is so important - if we can stay attentive on what's working and be as positive as possible, then any change technique we try will also have a better chance of success. If we stay "tied" to what's not working and too attentive to the pain, then we reinforce that kind of activity in the brain and that doesn't let us move forward in either case.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.