Just as the builders of the Titanic learned, we cannot afford hubris when dealing with our headaches.

I am floating in unfamiliar territory. My nephew died of acute lymphoma on Sunday evening, only three weeks after first showing symptoms. He was 42. An aggressive course of chemotherapy proved too much for him, and by Friday all of his extended family had gathered in the Mount Sinai ICU to be with Jordan in his last moments.

I was there as the strong one – to support his parents, who were going through the death of their child; his older siblings, witnessing the unimaginable; and the more emotional people in our tribe. My children also needed special comforting. By nature I am more taciturn.

The next day, the day of the funeral, I awoke with a headache. I had not eaten regularly over the weekend, and the repressed emotions were probably taking their toll as well. 

With great courage, Jordan’s brother and sister read the eulogy. When they began to describe the lengths to which his parents had gone to improve the quality of his life, I broke down and wept. For Jordan was physically and mentally challenged all his life, and they were his advocates and saviors…until this completely unanticipated tragic end result.

After the funeral, I had some delicious strudel which contained chocolate – no one knew about this ingredient until later, even my wife, my guardian angel on such matters. Now it is Wednesday, I’m still not well, and I am harboring guilt about not being with the family.

3 day headaches are no longer the norm for me. I know this one will end, like all the others. I’ll do what works for me, only longer.

Sometimes an iceberg comes into our path, and all we can do is the best that we can.

14/4/2012 04:59:31 am

So sorry to hear about your loss Gerry, very sad indeed that such a young man had so much pain and trials in his life and finally end in such tragedy. Please know that my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. ~Trish:-) ((HUGE HUG))

Reply
Anny Fyreagle
14/4/2012 01:46:43 pm

Icebergs float, regardless of their enormous weight and what is below the surface is much larger than what shows above the surface. They also flip, bringing what is below up and changing the balance.

You have picked a suitable analogy and it is beautiful as well. There is deep beauty in a life, in it's story. There are many ways to honour it. There is not right way or wrong way. Never has been, never will be. Be at peace with how much of your iceberg you can offer and allow the rest to be at rest. Icebergs also have a beautiful and haunting song that comes from deep within. Sounding is a good way to release our pain. I do it all the time. May you find peace.

Deep peace to you and yours. Anny

Reply
gerry
15/4/2012 10:50:00 pm

Thank you, Trish & Anny, for your words of comfort and kindness.

We have learned that Jordan had a greater impact on the world than any of us knew, and that things are being planned to preserve his memory.

My inner conflicts during the mourning period are trivial compared to Jordan's parents who have the indescribable pain of losing a child. Nevertheless they are real and still relevant to my peers who are migraine sufferers.

Anny, please tell me more about sounding.




Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.